Chi-Huey Wong, 10th President of Academia Sinica

Dr. Chi-Huey Wong became Academia Sinica's 9th President on October 19, 2006. And in 2011, he has continued in his position as the 10th President. He is also a Distinguished Research Fellow at the Genomics Research Center, Academia Sinica and a Professor of Chemistry at National Taiwan University and the Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, USA.
Born in Taiwan, Dr. Wong received his B.S. and M.S. degrees from National Taiwan University, and Ph.D. in Chemistry (with George M. Whitesides) from Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1982. He then moved with Professor Whitesides to Harvard University as a postdoctoral fellow for another year. He started his independent career as Assistant Professor of Chemistry at Texas A&M University in 1983, became Associate Professor in 1986 and Professor in 1987. He was Professor and Ernest W. Hahn Chair in Chemistry at the Scripps Research Institute (1989-2006) and Director of the Genomics Research Center at Academia Sinica, Taipei (2003-2006).

His research interests are in the areas of bioorganic and synthetic chemistry and biocatalysis, including development of new synthetic chemistry based on enzymatic and chemo-enzymatic reactions, synthesis of complex carbohydrates, glycoproteins and small-molecule probes for the study of post-translational glycosylation and carbohydrate-mediated biological recognition, drug discovery, development of oligosaccharide microarrays for high-throughput screening and study of reaction mechanism. He is the author and co-author of over 550 publications, 60 patents, and four books (Enzymes in Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Combinatorial Chemistry in Biology, Catalysis from A to Z, and Carbohydrate-Based Drug Discovery).

Dr. Wong is a recipient of The Searle Scholar Award in Biomedical Sciences (1985), the Presidential Young Investigator Award in Chemistry (1986), the American Chemical Society A.C. Cope Scholar Award (1993), the Roy Whistler Award of the International Carbohydrate Organization (1994), the American Chemical Society Harrison Howe Award in Chemistry (1998), the American Chemical Society Claude S. Hudson Award in Carbohydrate Chemistry (1999), the International Enzyme Engineering Award (1999), the Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Award (2000), the American Chemical Society Award for Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry (2005), and 2008 F.A. Cotton Medal for Excellence in Chemical Research.

 He is a member of Academia Sinica, Taipei (1994), the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1996), and the U.S. National Academy of Sciences (2002). He serves as Editor-in-Chief of Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry and is Chairman of the Executive Board of Editors of Tetrahedron Publications. He is also an editorial advisor of the Journal of American Chemical Society, ChemBiochem, Advanced Synthesis and Catalysis, Current Opinion in Chemical Biology, and Chemistry-An Asian Journal. He was head of the Frontier Research Program on Glycotechnology at RIKEN (Institute of Physical and Chemical Research, Japan, 1991-1999), and a board member of the U.S. National Research Council on Chemical Sciences and Technology (2000-2003). He is currently holding a joint appointment as Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Biochemical Sciences at National Taiwan University and National Tsing-Hua University, a scientific advisor of the Max-Planck Institute, and is a founding scientist and scientific advisory board chairman of Optimer Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

128 Academia Road, Section 2, Nankang, Taipei 115, Taiwan
Copyright©Academia Sinica 2007
Contact Us